Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series

Nick Ottinger denies Ryan Luna history with win at monster mile

Nick Ottinger scored a statement victory Tuesday at Dover International Speedway in the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series, putting an end to a three-race win streak from Ryan Luza.

Ottinger, the veteran driver, handed over his second position on the all-time wins list following Luza’s win in the last race at Richmond, but Ottinger’s victory – his first since Talladega last year – moved him back into a tie for No. 2 behind series G.O.A.T. Ray Alfalla. It also denied Luza a fourth straight win, which no driver has ever accomplished in series’ history.

Alfalla started the race from the pole, but quickly lost ground in the opening run. Long green-flag runs, a theme of the night, proved quite a contrast from the past two events; the race was slowed just twice for incidents.

It was looking like yet another Ryan Luza sort of night until Lap 78 when Miles the Monster decided to have a virtual Ford Mustang snack – Luza nailed the outside wall from the lead, giving way to Nick Ottinger.

Ottinger’s William Byron eSports entry looked untouchable with Luza out of contention – the only real challenger was Wood Brothers Racing’s Garrett Lowe, who tagged the wall and lost speed while attempting a pass for the lead.

It looked as though the race might slip out of Car No. 25’s hands in the closing laps when John Gorlinsky – Ottinger’s teammate, of all the cars – went for a ride, bringing out the race’s second and final caution, erasing the leader’s advantage.

Nevertheless, Ottinger held on, driving away in the final green-flag run to score the victory, his second at the Monster Mile and first since 2013 – the same year he first set the series’ three-consecutive-wins record that was much-discussed over the past two weeks.

Ottinger’s victory was the first for William Byron eSports, a new team in this year’s eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series.

Brad Davies finished second and Dylan Duval finished third, both drivers’ best finishes since 2016. Ryan Luza survived to finish fourth, while Keegan Leahy surged from a 29th-place starting position to finish fifth.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series heads next to Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 12.

You May Also Like

eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series

William Byron surged to victory in Sunday’s eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series, slipping by Timmy Hill with six laps to go at virtual Dover...

eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series

Finish Line 150 eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series entry list UPDATED Subject to change. UPDATE: Chase Elliott will not participate this weekend. No. Name Team...

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series

Who’s going to tame the Monster Mile? We’ll find out Tuesday as the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series makes its sixth stop of the 2020...

Dover International Speedway HotLaps Episode #17 – Dover International Speedway